PDA

View Full Version : At an impasse with Politics and family

Oerets
11-13-2012, 08:40 AM
Yesterday my 86 year old Mother called asking to be taken to the Doctor. Seems the Oxygen caused a server nose bleed.

Well all most as soon as I show up it starts. "How could you vote for that Muslim?" Now she has a real hard time hearing and understanding conversations along with the TV.

But the arguments she was using were all ones straight out of the mouths of my sisters and their husbands. The same vile lies I have been hearing for the last six months, no five years!

Like He grew up in Kenya is a So************************t going to take away her SS and Medicare. Played golf after the Hurricane was the newest one. Seems she just was told the Obama went to Burma to play golf the day after Sandy hit NY. Or went on vacation during the attack on Mumbazzie when our people got killed! I know where this one comes from, my sister just used that one two or three days before. Seems she got Benghazi somehow confused. Correcting her didn't take it now seems.

Now I know because if her hearing she has gotten stories confused but she was so worked up I refused to correct the mistake.

The problem as I see it is some of my family the Tea Party ones. Who are very vocal talk there crap in front of my Mother. Get her blood up just like theirs. Then when I show up force conversations not really intended or wanting.

Will do no good to say anything to them about it because they think I'm the one needing to see the light. But I just see a 86 year old woman whose blood pressure is unduly high, when not needing to be. Best to leave Politics out of her daily worries.

Tried talking to one of my brothers and he just said to refuse to bite when provoked. I try and try but it is hard not to correct someone when needed.

Why does everyone have to yell when they talk politics any more??? Or is it just my family?

Barney

ebacon
11-13-2012, 08:48 AM