Political Forums  

Go Back   Political Forums > Off-topic
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 01-12-2010, 11:12 AM
Loyal Opposition

Another perspective on race

Some of the threads here have been addressing the topic of race. OK, help me figure this one out. I've been slightly conflicted on this case I've been working on for the past several years. It's going to its second trial this month. I have been defending the union against claims made by five African Americans for racial discrimination.

I'll have to admit that the construction industry has a history of segregation, but I believe it is past that. I really believe that I have not been a hired gun in this case, but am defending what is in fact my client's fair operation of its referral system. I also believe that a couple of these plaintiffs have abused the civil rights laws for years, and that a couple of the other guys just got caught up in this thing and came along for the ride.

It bugs me that the attorneys on the other side are the type of folks that we would otherwise consider allies. We all strongly support democrats, and really all want what's best for working people. But they see my client as some sort of rednecks. I think they have this union stereotyped because some of them were involved in litigation involving another local in a different part of the country, from the same international union. From my review of court decisions in a lawsuit that has gone on for 30 years, the other local fought integration for years. In contrast, this local has African Americans on its executive board, there are probably a higher proportion of African Americans serving as foremen than Caucasians, and the officers run the union in a very business-like manner.